St. Bride's Church

Welcome to St. Bride's Church (Episcopal/Anglican)

Thank you for looking at our website! We hope this will give you an idea of who we are and what is our purpose. We invite you to join us.

Saint Bride's is the Anglo-Catholic parish in southern Virginia. This means that we are fully Anglican (from the Church of England), yet follow the theology and liturgy of the Catholic Revival in the Church of England, known as the Oxford Movement. Every Sunday we offer a simple Low Mass and a High Mass (with incense, chanting, classical yet singable music with pipe organ). We have a statue of Our Lady of Walsingham from England (the first Shrine to a vision of the Blessed Virgin Mary, ca. 1061) with votive candles. We also say the Angelus at the end of every Mass, and have a Rosary Group.

Our members include former Roman Catholics, Congregationalists, Methodists, Baptists and Presbyterians as well as life-long Episcopalians. They may have attended Anglo-Catholic services on vacation or while in the military and felt drawn to the beautiful liturgy. St. Bride’s provides a common tread in the expression of strong traditional liturgy, Bible based teaching and a small church experience.

This is a wonderful and warm parish to live out a traditional Anglican life as a disciple of Jesus Christ, in the fullness of the Catholic Faith.

Childcare is provided at both Masses. Join us this Sunday!

Anglican Heritage/Catholic Faith

What's In a Name? S. Bride's in the Pilot! [Article]

 

621 North Sparrow Road
Chesapeake, Virginia 23325-2504
(757) 420-7033
(Located in the Indian River section of Chesapeake)

Sunday Low Mass: 8:00am
Sunday High Mass: 10:30am
Wednesday Healing Mass: 9:00am
Thursday Rosary: 7:00pm

Like Us on Facebook:

Fr. William Charles Hoffman passed May 21, 2017. His son wrote this reflection on his father's life and character.

E-mail the Office: stbrideschurch@gmail.com

Upcoming Events
Monday 1 January Office Closed
Wednesday 3 January 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
10:30am ODH
Thursday 4 January 6:30am Men's Breakfast
7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 5 January 5:45pm Forward & Up
Sunday 7 January 8:00am TBA
9:10am Adult Formation
10:30am TBA
2:00pm Troop 656 Meeting
Monday 8 January 5:45pm Forward & Up
Tuesday 9 January 6:45pm Daisy Girl Scout Meeting
Wednesday 10 January 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
10:30am ODH
Thursday 11 January 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 12 January 5:45pm Forward & Up
8:00pm Girl Scout Sleepover
Saturday 13 January 11:00am Forward & Up
Sunday 14 January 8:00am Low Mass
9:10am Adult Formation
10:30am High Mass
1:00pm Dining Out @ Lockside Grill
Tuesday 16 January 6:45pm Daisy Girl Scout Meeting
Wednesday 17 January 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
10:30am ODH
7:00pm Vestry
Thursday 18 January 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 19 January 5:45pm Forward & Up
Saturday 20 January 11:00am Forward & Up
Sunday 21 January 8:00am Low Mass
9:10am Adult Formation
10:30am High Mass
2:00pm Troop 656 Meeting
Monday 22 January 5:45pm Forward & Up
Wednesday 24 January 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
10:300am ODH
Thursday 25 January 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 26 January 5:45pm Forward & Up
Saturday 27 January 11:00am Forward & Up
Sunday 28 January 8:00am Low Mass
9:10am Adult Formation
10:30am High Mass
Monday 29 January 5:45pm Forward & Up
Wednesday 31 January 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
10:30am ODH