St. Bride's Church

Welcome to St. Bride's Church (Episcopal/Anglican)

Thank you for looking at our website! We hope this will give you an idea of who we are and what is our purpose. We invite you to join us.

Saint Bride's is the Anglo-Catholic parish in southern Virginia. This means that we are fully Anglican (from the Church of England), yet follow the theology and liturgy of the Catholic Revival in the Church of England, known as the Oxford Movement. Every Sunday we offer a simple Low Mass and a High Mass (with incense, chanting, classical yet singable music with pipe organ). We have a statue of Our Lady of Walsingham from England (the first Shrine to a vision of the Blessed Virgin Mary, ca. 1061) with votive candles. We also say the Angelus at the end of every Mass, and have a Rosary Group.

Our members include former Roman Catholics, Congregationalists, Methodists, Baptists and Presbyterians as well as life-long Episcopalians. They may have attended Anglo-Catholic services on vacation or while in the military and felt drawn to the beautiful liturgy. St. Bride's provides a common tread in the expression of strong traditional liturgy, Bible based teaching and a small church experience.

This is a wonderful and warm parish to live out a traditional Anglican life as a disciple of Jesus Christ, in the fullness of the Catholic Faith.

Childcare is provided at both Masses. Join us this Sunday!

Anglican Heritage/Catholic Faith

What's In a Name? S. Bride's in the Pilot! [Article]

 

621 North Sparrow Road
Chesapeake, Virginia 23325-2504
(757) 420-7033
(Located in the Indian River section of Chesapeake)

Sunday Low Mass: 8:00am
Sunday High Mass: 10:30am
Wednesday Healing Mass: 9:00am
Thursday Rosary: 7:00pm

Like Us on Facebook:

We continue to pray for a priest to be our spiritual guide and leader. Please join us in praying the St. Bride's Prayer below:

Almighty God, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, sustain the patience and unity with which you have blessed us. Grant us wisdom to discern your will in our search for a priest who will guide and direct us in our spiritual life, as we witness to the traditional expression of the Christian faith. All this we ask through the power of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

E-mail the Office: stbrideschurch@gmail.com

Upcoming Events

There will regularly be services scheduled on Sunday mornings.
TBD indicates that a Priest has not yet accepted our invitation to celebrate Holy Eucharist.
If there is no available Priest, Morning Prayer will be said or sung according to the Book of Common Prayer.

Friday 1 March 5:45pm Forward & Up
Saturday 2 March 11:00am Forward & Up
Sunday 3 March 8:00am Low Mass
9:10am Adult Forum
10:30am High Mass
2:00pm Troop 656
Monday 4 March 5:45pm Forward & Up
Tuesday 5 March 5:45pm Daisy Girl Scouts
Wednesday 6 March 9:00 Low Mass with Imposition of Ashes
Thursday 7 March 6:30am Men's Breakfast
7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 8 March 5:45pm Forward & Up
Saturday 9 March 11:00am Forward & Up
Sunday 10 March 8:00am Low Mass
9:10am Adult Forum
10:30am High Mass
Wednesday 13 March 9:00am Low Mass with Healing Prayer
Thursday 14 March 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 15 March 5:45pm Forward & Up
Sandwiches Due
Saturday 16 March Sandwich Delivery
Sunday 17 March 8:00am Low Mass
9:10am Adult Forum
10:30am High Mass
2:00pm Troop 656
SB Articles Due
Monday 18 March 5:45pm Forward & Up
5:45pm Daisy Girl Scouts
Wednesday 20 March 9:00am Low Mass with Healing Prayer
7:00pm Vestry
Thursday 21 March 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Girl Scout Leaders
7:30pm Choir
Friday 22 March 5:45pm Forward & Up
Saturday 23 March 11:00am Forward & Up
Sunday 24 March 8:00am Low Mass
9:10am Adult Forum
10:30am High Mass
Monday 25 March 5:45pm Forward & Up
Wednesday 27 March 9:00am Low Mass with Healing Prayer
Thursday 28 March 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 29 March 5:45pm Forward & Up
Saturday 30 March 11:00am Forward & Up
Sunday 31 March 8:00am Low Mass
9:10am Adult Forum
10:30am High Mass