St. Bride's Church

Welcome to St. Bride's Church (Episcopal/Anglican)

Thank you for looking at our website! We hope this will give you an idea of who we are and what is our purpose. We invite you to join us.

Saint Bride's is the Anglo-Catholic parish in southern Virginia. This means that we are fully Anglican (from the Church of England), yet follow the theology and liturgy of the Catholic Revival in the Church of England, known as the Oxford Movement. Every Sunday we offer a simple Low Mass and a High Mass (with incense, chanting, classical yet singable music with pipe organ). We have a statue of Our Lady of Walsingham from England (the first Shrine to a vision of the Blessed Virgin Mary, ca. 1061) with votive candles. We also say the Angelus at the end of every Mass, and have a Rosary Group.

Our members include former Roman Catholics, Congregationalists, Methodists, Baptists and Presbyterians as well as life-long Episcopalians. They may have attended Anglo-Catholic services on vacation or while in the military and felt drawn to the beautiful liturgy. St. Bride’s provides a common tread in the expression of strong traditional liturgy, Bible based teaching and a small church experience.

This is a wonderful and warm parish to live out a traditional Anglican life as a disciple of Jesus Christ, in the fullness of the Catholic Faith.

Childcare is provided at both Masses. Join us this Sunday!

Anglican Heritage/Catholic Faith

What's In a Name? S. Bride's in the Pilot! [Article]

 

621 North Sparrow Road
Chesapeake, Virginia 23325-2504
(757) 420-7033
(Located in the Indian River section of Chesapeake)

Sunday Low Mass: 8:00am
Sunday High Mass: 10:30am
Wednesday Healing Mass: 9:00am
Thursday Rosary: 7:00pm

Like Us on Facebook:

Fr. William Charles Hoffman passed May 21, 2017. His son wrote this reflection on his father's life and character.

E-mail the Office: stbrideschurch@gmail.com

Upcoming Events
Wednesday 2 August 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
Thursday 3 August 7:00pm Rosary
Friday 4 August 5:45pm Forward and Up
Saturday 5 August 11:00am Requiem Mass
Sunday 6 August 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am High Mass
Wednesday 9 August 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
7:00pm Combined July/August Vestry Meeting
Thursday 10 August 7:00pm Rosary
Sunday 13 August 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am High Mass
Monday 14 August 5:45pm Forward and Up
Tuesday 15 August 7:00pm The Feast of St. Mary the Virgin
Wednesday 16 August 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
Thursday 17 August 7:00pm Rosary
Friday 18 August 5:45pm Forward and Up
Sandwich Ministry
Saturday 19 August 11:00am Forward and Up
Sandwich Ministry
Sunday 20 August 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am High Mass
Monday 21 August 5:45pm Forward and Up
Wednesday 23 August 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
Thursday 24 August 7:00pm Rosary
Friday 25 August 5:45pm Forward and Up
Saturday 26 August 11:00am Forward and Up
Sunday 27 August 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am High Mass
Monday 28 August 5:45pm Forward and Up
Wednesday 30 August 9:00am Low Mass with Healing
Thursday 31 August 7:00pm Rosary