St. Bride's Church

Welcome to St. Bride's Church (Episcopal/Anglican)

Thank you for looking at our website! We hope this will give you an idea of who we are and what is our purpose. We invite you to join us.

Saint Bride's is the Anglo-Catholic parish in southern Virginia. This means that we are fully Anglican (from the Church of England), yet follow the theology and liturgy of the Catholic Revival in the Church of England, known as the Oxford Movement. Every Sunday we offer a simple Low Mass and a High Mass (with incense, chanting, classical yet singable music with pipe organ). We have a statue of Our Lady of Walsingham from England (the first Shrine to a vision of the Blessed Virgin Mary, ca. 1061) with votive candles. We also say the Angelus at the end of every Mass, and have a Rosary Group.

Our members include former Roman Catholics, Congregationalists, Methodists, Baptists and Presbyterians as well as life-long Episcopalians. They may have attended Anglo-Catholic services on vacation or while in the military and felt drawn to the beautiful liturgy. St. Bride's provides a common tread in the expression of strong traditional liturgy, Bible based teaching and a small church experience.

This is a wonderful and warm parish to live out a traditional Anglican life as a disciple of Jesus Christ, in the fullness of the Catholic Faith.

Childcare is provided at both Masses. Join us this Sunday!

Anglican Heritage/Catholic Faith

What's In a Name? S. Bride's in the Pilot! [Article]

 

621 North Sparrow Road
Chesapeake, Virginia 23325-2504
(757) 420-7033
(Located in the Indian River section of Chesapeake)

Sunday Low Mass: 8:00am
Sunday High Mass: 10:30am
Wednesday Healing Mass: 9:00am
Thursday Rosary: 7:00pm

Like Us on Facebook:

We continue to pray for a priest to be our spiritual guide and leader. Please join us in praying the St. Bride's Prayer below:

Almighty God, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, sustain the patience and unity with which you have blessed us. Grant us wisdom to discern your will in our search for a priest who will guide and direct us in our spiritual life, as we witness to the traditional expression of the Christian faith. All this we ask through the power of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

E-mail the Office: stbrideschurch@gmail.com

Upcoming Events

There will regularly be services scheduled on Sunday mornings.
TBD indicates that a Priest has not yet accepted our invitation to celebrate Holy Eucharist.
If there is no available Priest, Morning Prayer will be said or sung according to the Book of Common Prayer.

Sunday 1 September 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am Morning Prayer
Wednesday 4 September 9:00am Low Mass w/ Healing
Thursday 5 September 6:30am Men's Breakfast
7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 6 September 5:45pm Forward & Up
Sunday 13 September 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am Morning Prayer
2:00pm Troop 656
Tuesday 10 September 6:45pm Daisy Girl Scouts
Wednesday 11 September 9:00am Low Mass w/ Healing
Thursday 12 September 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 13 September 5:45pm Forward & Up
Sunday 15 September 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am High Mass
Monday 16 September 5:45pm Forward & Up
Wednesday 18 September 9:00am Low Mass w/ Healing
Thursday 19 September 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 20 September 5:45pm Forward & Up
Sunday 22 September 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am High Mass
2:00pm Troop 656
Monday 23 September 5:45pm Forward & Up
Tuesday 24 September 6:45pm Daisy Girl Scouts
Wednesday 25 September 9:00am Low Mass w/ Healing
Thursday 26 September 7:00pm Rosary
7:30pm Choir
Friday 27 September 5:45pm Forward & Up
Sunday 29 September 8:00am Low Mass
10:30am High Mass
Monday 30 September 5:45pm Forward & Up